Board of Directors

R. Blair Thomas

Thomas BlairMr. Thomas is Chief Executive Officer of EIG, Chairman of the Investment Committee and Chairman of the Executive Committee and portfolio manager for all energy and infrastructure-related funds and accounts. Prior to joining EIG in 1998, Mr. Thomas was a senior investment officer with the Inter-American Development Bank and a project finance attorney at the law firm of Brown & Wood in New York. Mr. Thomas also served as an advisor on energy and budget policy in the first Bush White House. Mr. Thomas received a B.A. from the University of Virginia, a J.D. from New York Law School and an LL.M from Georgetown University Law Center. Mr. Thomas is a member of the Board of Directors of Prumo Logistica.


Linda Z. Cook

Linda Z. CookMs. Cook is a Managing Director, member of the Executive Committee, and CEO of Harbour Energy. Ms. Cook retired from Royal Dutch Shell plc in 2010, at which time she was a member of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee. During her 29 years with Shell, she held positions including CEO of Shell Gas & Power (London and The Hague); CEO of Shell Canada Ltd. (Calgary); EVP Strategy & Finance for Global Exploration & Production (The Hague); and various U.S. Exploration & Production management, operational and engineering roles. She received a B.S. in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Kansas and is currently a Trustee for the University's Endowment Association and a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers.


Jim Blackwell

James BlackwellMr. Blackwell served as executive vice president, technology and services for Chevron Corporation, a position he assumed in 2011. He was responsible for the oversight of technology, major capital project management, procurement and other corporate operating and support functions.  Previously Mr. Blackwell served as president of Chevron Asia Pacific Exploration and Production Company. He was responsible for Chevron’s exploration and production activities in nine countries across the Asia-Pacific region. From 2003-2007, Mr. Blackwell served as the managing director for Chevron’s Southern Africa strategic business unit, based in Luanda, Angola. He was responsible for exploration and production activities in the southern region of Africa. From 2002 to 2003, Blackwell was the president of Chevron Pipe Line Company, based in Houston, Texas.  Mr. Blackwell began his career in the energy industry in 1980 as a roustabout with Gulf Oil, offshore Louisiana.  Mr. Blackwell serves as a trustee at St. Mary’s College in Moraga, California, and is a director for KBR.  Mr. Blackwell previously served as a director of the National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, and the National Bureau of Asian Research. He is a member of the CSIS U.S.-China Policy Roundtable and the CSIS U.S.-ASEAN Strategy Commission. He earned his bachelor’s degrees in biology and environmental technology from the University of Southern Mississippi in 1980 and a master’s degree in petroleum engineering from Tulane University in 1984.


Richard S. Elman

Richard S. ElmanMr. Elman is the Founder of Noble Group Limited. He first arrived in Asia during the mid 1960s from England and has more than 50 years of experience in the physical commodities trading industry. Prior to setting up Noble Group in 1986, he worked for 10 years with Phibro and served as its Regional Director of Asia operations, including two years as a Board Director. Since that time he has overseen its development from an Asian based bulk commodity trading company into one of the key players in the global seaborne trade in metals and ores, energy and agricultural products. Mr. Elman serves as a Member of Board of Directors of Clearbridge Accelerator. He serves as Chairman of Noble Group Limited. He served as Chairman Emeritus of Noble Group Limited from September 1, 2010 to November 2010. He has been an Executive Director at Noble Group Limited since April 6, 1994. 


G. Steven Farris

G. Steven FarrisMr. Farris served as chairman and chief executive officer of Apache Corporation, an oil and natural gas exploration and production company with operations in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom sector of the North Sea, Egypt, and Australia. Mr. Farris was named chairman of Apache in January 2009, upon the retirement of company Founder Raymond Plank. He was promoted to president in 1994 and chief executive officer in May 2002. Farris joined Apache in June 1988 as vice president of domestic exploration and production and was promoted to senior vice president in May 1991. Prior to joining Apache, Mr. Farris was vice president, finance and business development, of Terra Resources, a subsidiary of Sempra Energy. Before working at Terra, he was executive vice president of Robert W. Berry, Inc., an independent exploration and production company. Mr. Farris began his career with Deloitte, Haskins & Sells as a Certified Public Accountant, earning his CPA license in 1972. Mr. Farris is the former chairman of America’s Natural Gas Alliance, the American chairman of the U.S.-Egypt Business Council, a member of the Business Roundtable, a member of the Executive Committee of the M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Board of Visitors, and a member of the Fund for Teachers Board of Directors. He holds bachelor’s degrees in history and accounting from Oklahoma State University.


Greg Hill

Greg HillMr. Hill is President and Chief Operating Officer of Hess Corporation, a global independent energy company engaged in the exploration and production of crude oil and natural gas.  Prior to joining Hess in 2009, Mr. Hill spent 25 years at Shell in a variety of operations, engineering, technical and business leadership roles in Asia Pacific, Europe and the United States. This included serving as Executive Vice President - Exploration and Production of Singapore-based Shell Asia Pacific, Vice President of Production for Shell E&P Europe, and Senior Vice President of Aera Energy, a California-based joint venture affiliate of Shell and Mobil. Mr. Hill holds a bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Wyoming. He is the chair of the Wyoming Governor’s ENDOW initiative to develop a 20-year economic diversification plan for the state of Wyoming, co-chair of the Wyoming Governor’s Energy, Engineering, STEM Integration Task Force and the Chairman of the University of Wyoming Foundation Board.  He also is a Board member of the Greater Houston Partnership, a founding member of CEO’s Against Cancer – Gulf Coast Chapter, Board Member of the Wyoming Business Council and a member of the Blue Ribbon Panel on Sustaining America’s Diverse Fish and Wildlife Resources created in 2014 by the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (AFWA).